Home Page

Townville Infants' School



Welcome to our Governors’ section.


Governor Roles Overview

The governing body has a range of duties and powers and a general responsibility for the conduct of the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement.

Its responsibilities include but are not limited to:

  • setting targets for pupil achievement
  • managing the school’s finances
  • making sure the curriculum is balanced and broadly based
  • appointing staff
  • reviewing staff performance and pay



If you are interested in becoming a Governor, or would like more information on the roles and responsibilities of a Governor, please contact Mrs Burden (Headteacher) by email on



Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.


Governing Body

Mr Paul Birdsall

  • Co-Opted Governor
  • Chair of Governors
  • Term: 14/07/2022-13/07/2026
  • Register of Interests

        Headteacher at Crofton Junior School


Ms Sara Stevenson

  • Co-opted Governor
  • Vice Chair of Governors
  • Health, Safety and Wellbeing Governot
  • Term; 13/06/2019 to 12/06/2023
  • Governor meeting attendance 9/9


Mrs  R Lockwood

  • Parent Governor
  • Pupil Premium Governor
  • Term 25/09/2020-24/09/2024
  • Governor meeting attendance 9/12


Mrs C Burden

  • Headteacher
  • Term start; 05/09/2018
  • Register of Interests

                 Headteacher at Townville Infants School

  • Governor meeting attendance 12/12


Ms T Corbett

  • Co-opted Governor 
  • Training Link Governor
  • Term:  22/03/2022 to 21/03/2026
  • Register of Interests

                 Wakefield Council Employee

  •  Governor meeting attendance 9/9


    Mrs Sadie Welford 

    • Staff Governor
    • SEND Governor
    • Safeguarding,Attendance and LAC Governor
    • Term: 25/09/2020-24/09/2024
    • Governor meeting attendance 8/9


    Mrs B Hughes

    • Co-Opted Governor
    • Term: 29/9/2022-28/09/2026


    Mr M Lancaster














    Committee Structure